top of page

Week 4: Wrestless Wild Woodland Wilderness Warrior

Onto the next project and I kind of messed up the entry on this one. I decided over the weekend that it would be best for me to do an environment in between characters and so on Monday I got to work on the behind the door project brief. This I struggled with it immensely on the first day, it’s essentially a completely open brief with very few limitations and I just could not get any ideas together I liked or felt enthusiastic about, so I did the next best thing. I Started a character project again. This time however I strayed even farther from my ultimate realism goal and picked the stylised character brief. My logic behind this is it gives me a chance to try something a bit different. Also I really want to get as many mistakes out before the realistic character brief and Christmas, helping me find flaws in my workflow and production.

Much like the previous project I am given a concept to work from but am free to adjust it, also like the previous I only have a 1024x1024px Diffuse only Texture. I am not over the moon about this but I will probably produce normals for this character anyway for personal work. I only have 4,000 tri’s plus another 2,000 for additional items. This isn’t a great deal when I struggled with the last project and that was 7,000 tri’s however it is a good test of efficiency and I will make the most of it.

After scraping pretty much the entirety of Monday I got straight to work making a quick block out on Tuesday. I used this block out to experiment with proportions, forms and additional items and weapons. I feel most comfortable doing design work in 3D at the moment and I am going to try and utilise that over the next year.

I decided when planning my project management and pipeline I would avoid using polypainting as it didn’t really come out as well as intended last time and took quite some time to bake out. I have planned to use this project as an introduction to substance painter. Saying that I still used polypainting to map out tones and get a feel for the kind of iconography and material break-up I want to later create. Again linking back to my design process of using 3D to quickly iterate and develop in real time.

Towards the end of the week I had everything ready for retoping and after a quick feedback session with both tutors and my peers I made some anatomical adjustments and reworked some designs. As this weekend is Halloween I am not even going to consider working then. But as I am on time I can hopeful start retopoligising next week Monday, maybe get that done in a day or two with the unwrapping and then hopefully get it all baked and ready for texturing towards the end of the week.

This project is a lot more compressed for time, partly because with the dioramas and hand in I was extremely short on time before, and partly because I want to spend some time out from uni doing other things. Brushing up on my 2D and traditional skills, some outdoorsy things and sculpting studies. So till next week’s update.


bottom of page